Dreaming Out Loud With Singer/Songwriter Rebeca Sol

Call me dramatic, but I envision my life in three acts.

The first act, which I’m in right now, I spend figuring out what I love and how to do it well. I write. I read. I create something that is extremely successful and something else that is not. I grow.

In the second act, I give back to those who could benefit from my knowledge. Maybe I start a production company. Maybe I become a college professor. Maybe I mentor a future Nobel Laureate. I teach.

In the third and final act, I move to an island, never wear shoes, grow grey dreadlocks to my ankles, and become a doula. I’m free.   

Some may call this plan unrealistic. I, however, call it extremely unrealistic. But I can’t really help myself, can I? I’m a dreamer. Unrealistic, implausible, and far-fetched goals come with the title. The only other person I know with wilder dreams than mine is my friend, Rebeca Sol. 

FullSizeRender (4)

PSA: I’m not thoroughly convinced that empty subway cars like this one actually exist.

Rebeca Sol is an accomplished singer-songwriter. Her influences range from Lauryn Hill and Lianne La Havas to Alicia Keys and Al Green. People’s response to her music is that it is a breath of fresh air, something different, something beautiful, and needed today more than ever. We met during freshman year of high school and, after hearing her organic and soulful voice, she quickly became one of my favorite singers. Rebeca works to create music that not only makes people feel good, but inspires them as well.

Bad Gal Brit Brit is all about great work and great artists. I got the chance to talk to Rebeca in between rehearsals for her upcoming solo show at Rockwood Music Hall about her early inspirations and future goals. Hopefully, you’ll enjoy reading about some of her dreams and be encouraged to conspire a few more of your own. 

Rebeca Sol’s Media State of Mind

  • Favorite Show? Scrubs 
  • Favorite Movie? A tie between Aladdin and Mulan
  • Favorite Song? Lions, Tigers & Bears by Jazmine Sullivan
  • Favorite Album? The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill by Lauryn Hill 
  • Favorite Book? Think And Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill (sadly, no relation to Lauryn) 

So, let’s start at the beginning. What was your introduction to music and when did you start taking it seriously? 

Well, I’ve always loved music and grew up with it in my house. I was homeschooled until 9th grade, but my parents would still put me in choirs and music activities before that. My dad used to play music a lot, he loved folk-y things and The Beach Boys while my mom was a fan of Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Toni Braxton** and those kinds of artists. I didn’t think I could really pursue this as a career until I was around 15. It was my first time going to a real school and I performed at an open mic night in the cafeteria.

I used to organize those open mics with the rest of Drama Club. I was THAT popular. 

Yup, I remember. And I remember performing a Lauryn Hill song and thinking it was amazing. It was all I wanted to do.

Would you say that Lauryn Hill was your main inspiration as a child?  

I loved her, but my first inspiration was definitely Alicia Keys. When I was young, I saw an old video of her in braids singing Fallin’ and wanted to be just like that. I wanted to play piano too because I thought it was so cool. We didn’t have money for piano lessons, but I still knew I wanted to play. 

And now that you’re older, what keeps you creative?

Probably my emotions or when I feel anything strongly. Words inspire me and I listen to a lot of Less Brown. He’s a motivational speaker and he has this line about not letting your dreams go to the graveyard with you. 

9h-nqTVk

This is the face I make when I cook a new vegan meal and force everyone in my family to like it.

I feel like your mother is also a big influence. When we first met, one of the first things we bonded over was having strong women in our lives to look up to. How has she helped you on your journey?

My mom is everything. She is such a hardworker and just seeing her finally pursuing her own dreams now that my brother and I are older inspires me so much. I obviously want to give back to her. She always tells me to stay on my own path and not let outside things like boys influence my work. 

OoOoOoOoH SPEAKING OF BOYS, let’s talk about them. We already talk about them a lot, but let’s talk about them in terms of your career.

I think love is important, but self-love is more important. My goal isn’t to find someone and chill, my goal is to inspire and make music and have someone by my side who supports that. 

Same, sis. It would also help if he looked like Idris Elba, but that’s besides the point.

He’s mine.

Let’s not do this right now. 

Mine.

unnamed

MINE!!!!!!!!!!!

The music industry has a reputation for being male-dominated and competitive, but does that ever change the way you work? 

Not really. A big part of how I work with anyone is the feeling. I need to have good energy around me, but I don’t really care what package it comes in. It’s more important for me to know who you are as a person. So, for example, I couldn’t have a crazy Trump voter on stage with me. If that’s your way of thinking and your viewpoint, I don’t really want to make music with you regardless of if you’re a boy or a girl. I can’t control who is in the crowd of course, but I do want to feel safe with the people I’m working with. 

Fair enough. So, if the world actually was a safe perfect place and you could have your dream life tomorrow, what would it look like? Would you have an album out? Be on tour?

I have four year goals so this is actually very easy. I want to go on tour as an independent artist. I want to hire other great musicians and afford to pay them very well and travel the world. 

What about fame? Wealth? All of those things that people feel guilty for wanting?

Hey, a private jet sounds nice to me and I’d love to win a Grammy. I’m open to notoriety. Recognition would be nice because you can create more when you have that kind of platform. I want all of that. I don’t feel guilty about having a dream. 

To learn more, subscribe to Rebeca Sol’s newsletter at rebecasolmusic@gmail.com or follow her on Instagram at @rebecasolmusic. Be sure to check out her new single Something Special coming soon to a streaming service near you!

**It should be noted that I am 21 years old in 2018. Celine, Whitney, and Toni are STILL my favorite singers …….That’s normal right? 

Standard

Leave a comment